Athletics Hall of Honor Class of 1996 Announced

June 12, 1996

NEW CARLISLE, Ohio - Five new inductees into Wittenberg University's Athletics Hall of Honor were announced Saturday at the annual Varsity "W" breakfast held during the university's Alumni Weekend. The new inductees are Tim Casey '85, basketball; Diane Dahowski '84, swimming; Don Henderson '54, football, basketball, baseball; the late Norm Lymangrover '42, football and track; and former Tiger basketball coach Larry Hunter. They will be formally inducted on Oct. 11 at an evening dinner, which is open to the public, and introduced to half-time of Wittenberg's Homecoming football game against Maryville College the next afternoon.

Casey, a graduate of Upper Arlington High School, was a four-year starter who left Wittenberg as the third-leading scorer in school history with 1,649 points. In 1984-85 Casey was named first team All-American and Division III National Player of the Year as well as most valuable player of the Ohio Athletic Conference. He is now head boys' basketball coach at Kettering Fairmont High School after serving as head coach at Graham for several seasons.

Dahowski was a three-year co-captain and most valuable swimmer for three years. In 1983 she earned All-America honors by placing 11th in the Division ill championships in the 100-yard breaststroke.

Henderson was selected Wittenberg's Athlete of the Year in 1952-53. He served as team captain in both football and baseball as a senior. Henderson later became head basketball coach at Springfield North High School where he won 235 games.

Lymangrover was a standout on Wittenberg's 1940 undefeated football team. The Napoleon, Ohio native played fullback and linebacker. He was selected All-Ohio Conference by the Associated Press and United Press International and was also picked third team All-Ohio by AP and second team All-Ohio by International News Service.

Hunter was Wittenberg's basketball coach from 1977 to 1989 and compiled an impressive record of 305-76, a winning percentage of .800. He led the Tigers to six OAC championships, six OAC Tournament titles and the NCAA Division III Championship in 1977, his rust season as coach. He also took Wittenberg to Division III third-place finishes in 1980 and 1987 and a runner-up spot in 1983. He was named Division III Coach of the Year in 1977, District Coach of the Year six times and OAC Coach of the Year twice, in 1980 and 1989. In 1985 he was voted Ohio Coach of the Year. In addition, he led the Wittenberg women's cross-country team to the OAC title in 1983. As the head coach at Ohio University since 1990, where he has a 125-83 record, he led his 1995 team to a Pre-Season NIT Championship. He won the Mid-American Conference title in 1993-94 and was the league's Coach of the Year. His career record is 430-159.