12 Tigers Claim NFHCA National Academic Squad Awards

12 Tigers Claim NFHCA National Academic Squad Awards

Springfield, Ohio – A whopping 12 Wittenberg University field hockey student-athletes have been recognized for their performance in the classroom by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA). 

The accolades start with seniors Paige Vanerstrom (Pittsburgh, Pa./North Allegheny) and Andrea Mattingly (Louisville, Ky./Mercy Academy), both of whom were recognized as four-year recipients of NFHCA National Academic Squad awards. Wittenberg was further represented on the list by juniors Laura Jansing (Cincinnati, Ohio/Mount Notre Dame)Sarah Brownell (Ocnomowoc, Wis./University Lake School), Michaela Bowler (Lake Bluff, Ill./Woodlands Academy) and Michelle Murray (Pittsburgh, Pa./North Allegheny), sophomores Kayla Burkhardt (Novi, Mich./Novi), Bridgid Kortyna (Gibsonia, Pa./Pine-Richland) and Zara Tickner (Harrisburg, Pa./Central Dauphin) and freshmen Emily Darnell (Shelbyville, Ky./Assumption), Rebecca Mitchell (Toledo, Ohio/Ottawa Hills) and Isabella Wagner (Hilliard, Ohio/Bradley). Student-athletes who earned a 3.3 grade point average or better through the first semester of the 2015-16 school year were eligible to receive the honor.

As a team, Wittenberg earned an NCAA Division III National Academic Team Award, which is given to programs that post a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better.

Wittenberg concluded the 2015 season with records of 8-11 overall and 8-6 in the North Coast Athletic Conference (NCAC), good for fourth place in the final regular season standings. Five Tigers earned All-NCAC honors and three gained All-Great Lakes Region awards following the season.

Written By: Ryan Maurer