2007-08 Season Outlook

Gregg Hill

Gregg Hill is the Tigers' lone returning starter for the 2007-08 season.

With the loss of four starters, five seniors, and five of the team's top seven scorers, even Wittenberg University, with the most wins and highest winning percentage in NCAA Division III men's basketball history, may be facing a "rebuilding" season in 2007-08. The five seniors were part of more than 100 wins during their four years at Wittenberg, and they appeared in three NCAA tournaments, including a national championship game appearance in 2006.

Entering the 2007-08 season, junior Gregg Hill (Farmington Hills, Mich./Redford Union) heads up a list of seven returning letterwinners focused on extending the Tigers streak of consecutive non-losing seasons to an amazing 51 in a row. Hill, a second-team All-NCAC selection last season, is the team's top returning scorer after averaging 11.6 points per game in his first season as a starter in 2006-07. He shot 43 percent from behind the three-point arc and 83 percent from the free throw line.

Hill is the focal point of the Tigers' offense in 2007-08, in part because of the graduation of All-American post player Dane Borchers, who ranked first or second on the team in points and rebounds each of the last three seasons. There are players with great potential surrounding Hill this year, starting with senior wings Brandon White (Columbus, Ohio/Bexley) and Brandan Barabino (Toledo, Ohio/St. John's Jesuit), who have been selected co-captains despite the fact neither has started a collegiate game. White shot 44 percent from three-point range a year ago in his first season in the playing rotation, while Barabino is the team's second-leading returning scorer and top returning rebounder.

At the point, sophomore David Nowicki (Carmel, Ind./Westfield) and junior Kyle Bigler (Hilliard, Ohio/Davidson) both stepped up to earn varsity letters during the 2006-07 season behind two-year starter Pat Denbow. Both have great shooting range and quickness.

Rounding out the list of returning letterwinners are junior wing Kevin Murray (Carmel, Ind./Carmel) and fifth-year senior post Sam Gregory (Gainesville, Fla./Oak Hall). Both earned the first letter of their Wittenberg careers last year, appearing in 26 and 18 games respectively. Murray is a streaky three-point shooter who averaged 3.4 points per game a year ago, including a career-high 17 in a win over Haverford in the second game of the season. Gregory is a hard worker in the low post who contributed 2.9 points and 1.6 rebounds per outing in 2006-07.

To fill the gaps, Head Coach Bill Brown, who holds the Wittenberg record for career victories with 327, has high hopes for the members of an outstanding recruiting class, as well as several players who split time between the reserve and varsity squads a year ago.

2007-08 Team Information

Returning Letterwinners (7)
Brandan Barabino (W, 6-4, Sr.)
Kyle Bigler (G, 5-9, Jr.)
Sam Gregory (P, 6-5, Sr.)
Gregg Hill (W, 6-0, Jr.)
Kevin Murray (W, 6-3, Jr.)
David Nowicki (G, 5-9, So.)
Brandon White (W, 6-0, Sr.)
Letterwinners Lost (6)
Dane Borchers
Billy Bowen
Mark Caraway
Pat Denbow
Jack Hemenway
Mark Huelsman
Other Returning Players (7)
Trent Bailey (G, 6-0, Jr.)
Ben Dobberstein (P, 6-8, So.)
Brad Folta (W, 6-4, So.)
Casey McCoart (W, 6-3, So.)
Brian Morrow (W, 6-4, So.)
Mark Snyder (P, 6-6, So.)
Adam York (P, 6-6, So.)
Tim Beck (P, 6-6, Jr.)
Jeromy Romero (P, 6-6, Jr.)
Newcomers (8)
Lewis Buzzard (F, 6-6, Fr.)
Darrell Cook (G, 5-9, Fr.)
Patrick Guido (W, 6-0, Fr.)
Derrick Hannon (G, 6-0, Fr.)
Seth Hill (G, 6-1, Fr.)
Jeff Lee (F, 6-7, Fr.)
John Lowther (G, 6-1, Fr.)
Kyle Peterson (W, 6-1, Fr.)